| 0 |
Subject: Guy needs Help
Posted by: ukula
- [53043120] Thu, Feb 16, 2006, 23:31
Hey guys - I need a little help. My wife is giving me heat because she found the following link in our URL history:
Link in Question
I don't even know what the heck it is or where it came from but she thinks I'm doing a search for "play strip poker on internet" which is located at the top where Web Search is. To me it looks like some sort of ad where this phrase was already typed in since there is a link right below it for "http://www.casinoonlinegames.net/internstrip.html".
Is there any way to tell from the URL where this came from or if the top part is indeed an ad and not an actual search?
Thanks guys - If anyone can help me out I'll donate $10 to the Guru. I don't need this crap. |
| 1 | TB
ID: 1415790 Thu, Feb 16, 2006, 23:39
|
I didn't click on your link, but did copy it and paste it below. What is all the extra stuff after it?
http://www.websearch.com/search/framed.aspx?qkw=play+strip+poker+on+internet&Aff=1499&Link=http://www.casinoonlinegames.net/internstrip.html&fr2=http://www.websearch.com/xfb_redir.aspx?CP=X2nq6cf0s1bbCMjVR3x2PHQlXUtDS9Ljq2o696NHKQHnD2kGsmKiIsPUSGR8YYBqN63zwHx3MnsTwNnk4LTpqjrsorm9Iu9D9JFILqHu1JkNY-G9wfJh0KVI0cz_eLkcNp0y0QA9eNYJEsdVjWdZml2KTulTM-9PvQ1q3y700aoQ32iLLN92XvqqLgPLsc0f0g_g5IqU065ooE56hfj1x_a0o2ss6RkrmN2q91Pw4qWh7W5JRWrbAWZDs-_bkhwfZhpnZJD8b0LdJc5AWTuGA10MuDXvSBqkgSV1dszc8NVV6fyAdVqmjLzmT4RA3VGXoms8Olltz6uA_X7mtnsFv9Nak9qhrO8Xxl-rvWdWC2gLGGttJjCDmYxRDq7mHGsM5xIuQfFs-HmBihw4Ii-8TlSa0eVYQAQWKazFv_2qp-Bn4b2krCD2GbKCSnDC2_K-XgHFwrulNIz3Fd-SqD2qGx29DLdCDR2iNXfBSooqU5MHjVXwFiOzDudFZtE0pc-hF55qjy2RagOm7zZag7bBGdlB5-SAjNunbqhDSqbFxabr149NAcp9dLv1gpUWq7b1ispLeDw-1HhQaYSKg896aAwaNnKMvm9EzCSQFEg2wx9HQ682owcXvJEkb3bK
|
| 2 | The Beezer Leader
ID: 191202817 Thu, Feb 16, 2006, 23:51
|
I didn't see anything weird in the link, as there's no @ to hide stuff or anything like that. However, when you go to websearch.com (which looks like a legit site, even if a bit out of date) and search on "play strip poker on internet", it throws up a message about the search term being likely to result in adult content.
The site then asks if you want to run the search with the adult filter ON (which brings up nothing other than regular poker links) or gives you to DestinationXXX.com to run the search there. If you run the search there, it comes back with no results found, and it has a www.destinationxxx.com URL instead of a www.websearch.com URL. I don't see any way to run a search from www.websearch.com that will get you the page you see. For instance, if you try to "go back to results" from the above link that you posted, you get the same adult filter message.
My conclusion is that this is some sort of ad or faked link and is not legitimate. Go forth and sin no more.
|
| 3 | TB
ID: 1415790 Thu, Feb 16, 2006, 23:56
|
I did go to websearch.com and typed in "play strip poker on internet"
This is the link that came up: http://websearch.com/search/results.aspx?qcat=web&Tbid=1&qkw=play+strip+poker+on+internet
No clue how the link got on your computer, but with all of today's pop-ups it could have easily happened without you ever knowing what it was. One of those boxes you closed without ever clicking on, but would have directed you to the site.
|
| 4 | TB
ID: 1415790 Fri, Feb 17, 2006, 00:00
|
I did the same thing Beezer, but am playing cards at the same time (not strip poker...lol) so a little slow to post my results. =)
|
| 5 | Motley Crue
ID: 3311172123 Fri, Feb 17, 2006, 00:35
|
I'd recommend getting a new wife. Yours seems to be malfunctioning.
|
| 6 | The Beezer Leader
ID: 191202817 Fri, Feb 17, 2006, 00:40
|
Oddly enough MC, I tried the following URL:
search on "find a new wife"
and the same page came up!
Replacing the search terms pulls up the same page with the words in the search area showing up in a search frame at the top.
|
| 7 | ukula
ID: 53043120 Fri, Feb 17, 2006, 06:32
|
My feeling is this - first of all, if someone typed in that search phrase "play strip poker online" and hit enter why would a casino ad pop up? When I go to websearch.com (whatever the heck that is) and type it in I get a search listing looking like any from Yahoo or Google.
Secondly, the "remove frame" at the top and the link to a strip poker site looks mysteriously like an ad to me.
|
| 8 | tree
ID: 34139175 Fri, Feb 17, 2006, 06:45
|
i'm pretty sure that websearch.com is one of those adware/spyware sites that pop up if you accidently type in an incorrect spelling for certain URLs.
i can't think of an exact example right now, but let's say you wanted americanairlines.com, but instead typed americanair.com, that is the kind of thing that might go to websearch.com
try showing this link to your wife to help explain...
it happened to me at work yesterday. i was helping a buddy find a flight on frontier airlines, and i guessed at the URL, and guessed wrong...
|
| 9 | weykool
ID: 60552122 Sun, Feb 19, 2006, 02:06
|
I think the bigger question is.......how viable is strip poker on the internet?
I mean....what next?
Spin the bottle....truth or dare?
Your wife seems a bit paranoid.
|
| 10 | Mike D Leader
ID: 041831612 Sun, Feb 19, 2006, 08:18
|
Websearch is actually known to install a toolbar against your wishes, and is sometimes tough to remove. It has also occasionally changed people's start pages. Definitely a pain in the butt borderline spyware/adware thing.
And like TB said in post 3, usually it is via a pop-up ad, and no way to know what site caused it to pop up. It could show in your URL history though whether you clicked on it or not, just because it popped open off of another site.
It is not uncommon for porno URLs etc to show in your history when you NEVER actually went to those sites. But a pop-up ad pointed to it, and that URL shows.
Educate your wife on how all this works. As usual ignorance of the issues leads to assumptions, and to problems.
And run spyware removers often!
|
| 11 | ukula
ID: 411512015 Mon, Feb 20, 2006, 17:08
|
Thanks guys - I really appreciate it. I definitely had WebSearch on my system, very hard to get rid of that garbage but I'll try again. $10 is on it's way to the Guru as promised.
No matter how hard it is to get rid of WebSearch though it's twice as hard to convince my wife that the internet isn't the black and white, cut and dry, happy little place of friendly emails, eBay, and LL Bean. She doesn't see the spam, fishers, viruses, adware, spyware, etc....
It appears that during a search for "casino contests" WebSearch attached the ad to one of the search results. Boom!
Guilty until proven innocent,
ukula
|
| 12 | Perm Dude Dude
ID: 030792616 Mon, Feb 20, 2006, 17:12
|
It might help to run a bunch of different "cleaners" since it'll help wipe things a little better in case one doesn't get everything.
For example, I run both Ad-Aware and Microsoft AntiSpyware in case one doesn't get it, the other one might. Plus a once a month SpyBot cleaning.
Same for anti-virus.
|
| 13 | C.SuperFreak
ID: 2896616 Mon, Feb 20, 2006, 19:41
|
I'm guessing it's a popup ad. I ran a couple of searches on poker and casino games and ran into a heavy flood of popups. An incorrect click on one of these popups can get you into some strange places. :( But if you are into strip poker you'll need to turn on your webcam.;)
Now I'm going to have to clear my internet cache and cookies dir.
|
|
|
|
Post a reply to this message: (But first, how about checking out this sponsor?)
|